Entry Level Bikes for the new rider

Entry Level Bikes for the new rider

Postby NoyzSource » Mon Oct 12, 2009 9:26 am

I'm not an expert rider so I don't claim to know all the ins/outs. I fear that we (MTB riders) intimidate newer riders that don't have AWESOME mountain bikes. Newer riders, especially men in the teens, 20s and 30s, don't ride sometimes because they are embarrassed of their equipment (on many levels).

My new bike is hardly an entry level bike but sure looks low end compared to some of the bikes I see at Beverly. I love my new bike but I also loved my 26" Gary Fisher that I bought for $400.

Would some of the more experienced riders please post some good entry level bikes for new riders (men and women) that won't break the bank? Maybe even touch on the "big box store" vs "local bike shop (LBS)" quality of bikes.
NoyzSource
Site Admin

Re: Entry Level Bikes for the new rider

Postby iLuvTechnical » Mon Oct 12, 2009 9:38 am

If you meet or hear of someone that is embarrassed or intimidated, just show them a picture of me and my equipment :shifty:
That should make them feel better.
There is always someplace in the world dry enough for kick'n up a little dirt.
FIND IT AND LET THE REST OF US KNOW!
iLuvTechnical

Postby Farmboy » Mon Oct 12, 2009 9:55 am

Almost every mountain biker I know started riding on a $300-$400 bike. Obviously it's silly to start riding on a $1000 bike when you don't even know if you're going to like the sport.

Some good entry level bikes that I know of are:

Specialized Hardrock: http://www.specialized.com/us/en/bc/SBC ... temId=9253
Trek: http://www.trekbikes.com/us/en/bikes/mo ... ries/3700/

These are just a couple. These bikes would be at home on singletrack or pulling a Burley.